WELCOME TO MARIO'S HOTEL IN FLORENCE

Welcome to Mario’s 3 Star Hotel in the Renaissance city of Firenze. With a cosy and friendly atmosphere and a great central location, Mario’s is a family run Guest House style hotel which offers comfort and service with a smile to guests from all over the world. Blending the old world charm of Florence in the fixtures and fittings of a 17th century building with the modern luxuries and comforts expected by today’s traveller, The Florentine hotel owners Leonardo and his brothers like to personally afford each and every guest that personal touch and leave you with happy memories of a pleasant and fruitful stay in Florence.
Visualizzazione post con etichetta railway station. Mostra tutti i post
Visualizzazione post con etichetta railway station. Mostra tutti i post

venerdì 16 settembre 2011

FIRENZE: CAPPELLA BRANCACCI

The Distribution of Alms and Death of Ananias by Masaccio
The Brancacci Chapel (in Italian, "Cappella dei Brancacci") is a chapel in the Church of Santa Maria del Carmine in Florence. It is sometimes called the "Sistine Chapel of the early Renaissance" for its painting cycle, among the most famous and influential of the period. Construction of the chapel was commissioned by Pietro Brancacci and begun in 1386. Public access is currently gained via the neighbouring convent, designed by Brunelleschi. The church and the chapel are treated as separate places to visit and as such have different opening times and it is quite difficult to see the rest of the church from the chapel.
The patron of the pictorial decoration was Felice Brancacci, descendant of Pietro, who had served as the Florentine ambassador to Cairo until 1423. Upon his return to Florence, he hired Masolino da Panicale to paint his chapel. Masolino's associate, 21 year old Masaccio, 18 years younger than Masolino, assisted, but during painting Masolino left to Hungary, where he was painter to the king, and the commission was given to Masaccio. By the time Masolino returned he was learning from his talented former student. However, Masaccio was called to Rome before he could finish the chapel, and died in Rome at the age of 27. Portions of the chapel were completed later by Filippino Lippi. Unfortunately during the Baroque period some of the paintings were seen as unfashionable and a tomb was placed in front of them.

Stay at Hotel Mario's: we help you to enjoy Florentine culture.

Via Faenza, 89
50123 Firenze
Tel. 0039 055 216 801
Fax 0039 055 212 039

mercoledì 10 agosto 2011

ART IN FLORENCE

Florence has a legendary artistic heritage. Cimabue and Giotto, the fathers of Italian painting, lived in Florence as well as Arnolfo and Andrea Pisano, renewers of architecture and sculpture; Brunelleschi, Donatello and Masaccio, forefathers of the Renaissance, Ghiberti and the Della Robbias, Filippo Lippi and Angelico; Botticelli, Paolo Uccello and the universal genius of Leonardo da Vinci and Michelangelo.
Their works, together with those of many other generations of artists, are gathered in the several museums of the town: the Uffizi Gallery, the Palatina gallery with the paintings of the "Golden Ages" the Bargello with the sculptures of the Renaissance, the museum of San Marco with Fra Angelico's works, the Academy, the chapels of the Medicis Buonarroti' s house with the sculptures of Michelangelo, the following museums: Bardini, Horne, Stibbert, Romano, Corsini, The Gallery of Modern Art, the Museo dell'Opera del Duomo, the museum of Silverware and the museum of Precious Stones. Great monuments are the landmarks of Florentine artistic culture: the Florence Baptistery with its mosaics; the Cathedral with its sculptures, the medieval churches with bands of frescoes; public as well as private palaces: Palazzo Vecchio, Palazzo Pitti, Palazzo Medici Riccardi, Palazzo Davanzati; monasteries, cloisters, refectories; the "Certosa". In the archeological museum includes documents of Etruscan civilization. In fact the city is so rich in art that some first time visitors experience the Stendhal syndrome as they encounter its art for the first time.
Uffizi hallway
Florentine architects such as Filippo Brunelleschi (1377–1466) and Leon Battista Alberti (1404–1472) were among the fathers of both Renaissance and Neoclassical architecture,
The cathedral, topped by Brunelleschi's dome, dominates the Florentine skyline. The Florentines decided to start building it – late in the 13th century, without a design for the dome. The project proposed by Brunelleschi in the 14th century was the largest ever built at the time, and the first major dome built in Europe since the two great domes of Roman times – the Pantheon in Rome, and Hagia Sophia in Constantinople. The dome of Santa Maria del Fiore remains the largest brick construction of its kind in the world. In front of it is the medieval Baptistery. The two buildings incorporate in their decoration the transition from the Middle Ages to the Renaissance. In recent years, most of the important works of art from the two buildings – and from the nearby Giotto's Campanile, have been removed and replaced by copies. The originals are now housed in the Museum dell'Opera del Duomo, just to the east of the Cathedral.
Florence has large numbers of art-filled churches, such as San Miniato al Monte, San Lorenzo, Santa Maria Novella, Santa Trinita, Santa Maria del Carmine, Santa Croce, Santo Spirito, the Annunziata, Ognissanti and numerous others.
Palazzo della Signoria
Artists associated with Florence range from Arnolfo di Cambio and Cimabue to Giotto, Nanni di Banco, and Paolo Uccello; through Lorenzo Ghiberti, and Donatello and Massaccio and the della Robbia family; through Fra Angelico and Botticelli and Piero della Francesca, and on to Michelangelo and Leonardo da Vinci. Others include Benvenuto Cellini, Andrea del Sarto, Benozzo Gozzoli, Domenico Ghirlandaio, Filippo Lippi, Bernardo Buontalenti, Orcagna, Pollaiuolo, Filippino Lippi, Verrocchio, Bronzino, Desiderio da Settignano, Michelozzo, the Rossellis, the Sangallos, and Pontormo. Artists from other regions who worked in Florence include Raphael, Andrea Pisano, Giambologna, Il Sodoma and Peter Paul Rubens.
Brunelleschi's dome
The Uffizi and the Pitti Palace are two of the most famous picture galleries in the world. Two superb collections of sculpture are in the Bargello and the Museum of the Works of the Duomo. They are filled with the creations of Donatello, Verrochio, Desiderio da Settignano, Michelangelo and others. The Accademia has Michelangelo's David – perhaps the most well-known work of art anywhere, plus the unfinished statues of the slaves Michelangelo created for the tomb of Pope Julius II.
Other sights include the medieval city hall, the Palazzo della Signoria (alsdo known as the Palazzo Vecchio), the Archeological Museum, the Museum of the History of Science, the Palazzo Davanzatti, the Stibbert Museum, St. Marks, the Medici Chapels, the Museum of the Works of Santa Croce, the Museum of the Cloister of Santa Maria Novella, the Zoological Museum ("La Specola"), the Bardini, and the Museo Horne. There is also a collection of works by the modern sculptor, Marino Marini, in a museum named after him. The Strozzi Palace is the site of special exhibits.

Visit Florence and stay at Hotel Mario's


venerdì 25 febbraio 2011

Firenze Tango Festival 2011 in Florence

Firenze Tango Festival 2011 will take place in Florence from April 28th to May 1st2011.
30 international artists, 40 workshops, performances every night, tango dancers from all over the world.
Dancing in the Saschall Theatre means: 2500 sq dedicated to tango in a location with high quality light and sound system, 2 orchestras, big tangoshow on the stage, 2 dance floors (“traditional” and “alternative”), afternoon milonga, table reservation and table service, exposition of tango shoes and clothes.
HOTEL MARIO'S
Via Faenza, 89      50123 Firenze
Tel. 0039 055 216801
Fax: 0039 055 212039

sabato 18 settembre 2010

FLORENCE TATTOO CONVENTION 2010


A special and unique photographic exhibition that will remain active for all the event duration.
Tattoo hand - Photograph © Joann FletcherThe exhibition will get you in a articulated and valued journey based on the history of tattoo linked to fascinating phenomenon of mummification, all over the world and along the whole history of mankind.
The trip, richly described by explanatory captions, proceeds in a geographical sense with a large pool of tattooed mummies images belonging to distant lands such as Peru, with Princess Shaman Lady of Cao, with Siberian mummies belonging to the Shiite people of Pazyryk, New Zealand , the Philippines and Italy.
The expo purpose is to show the how much ancient this practice is and how much important has been in humanity history
People get tattooed since immemorial time, the right time to practice can be determined according with natural cycles, the reason could have been to belong a tribe, follow a thought or a cult, for protection from the evil spirits or mark an important moment in own human evolution.

venerdì 21 maggio 2010

Hotel Mario's Florence - 3 Star Hotel In Florence


Welcome to Mario’s 3 Star Hotel in the Renaissance city of Firenze. With a cosy and friendly atmosphere and a great central location, Mario’s is a family run Guest House style hotel which offers comfort and service with a smile to guests from all over the world. Blending the old world charm of Florence in the fixtures and fittings of a 17th century building with the modern luxuries and comforts expected by today’s traveller, The Florentine hotel owners Leonardo and his brothers like to personally afford each and every guest that personal touch and leave you with happy memories of a pleasant and fruitful stay in Florence.
Mario’s Hotel is located on Via Faenza, number 89, an unusual niche of tranquillity in an otherwise bustling city. Our half of via Faenza (the half nearest Santa Maria Novella train station) is not an ZTL zone, meaning most traffic is allowed down it. No parking is allowed therefore you must park in a nearby garage however, Mario’s guests get parking facilities here at discount rates!
If arriving by air you can take the city shuttle to Santa Maria Novella Station. To reach the hotel from here go parallel to the station on its right hand side and turn right at Piazza Adua and continue along Via Cennini. When you come to Via Faenza turn right and you’ll soon come to Mario’s Hotel – number 89.
If you’re coming by car simply follow signs for the station then the directions above. The Fortezza da Basso conference and trade fair centre are within a few minutes walk of the hotel.
The ornate renaissance building which houses Mario’s Hotel dates back to the 17th century, when it was the aristocratic residence of a noble of the great Florentine Republic and was converted into a hotel in 1872. Today, Mario's is still run by a Florentine family who have been in the hospitality industry for generations. Leonardo and his brothers will make sure that the 3 Star Hotel Marios continues to remain the value for money, charming Florentine Guest House for which it is famous. Now refurbished and improved, through continuous change Mario’s Guest House is a perfect blend of charm and splendour from the cradle of the renaissance with modern customer service and with only 16 rooms we’re able to give each and every guest personal service.
The entire property is air conditioned and central heated, with 21st century insulation and a range of mod cons like power showers, international satellite TV and a Hotel Bar with internet point where you can relax and catch up on those emails. Business clients are welcome to use our fax and photocopier and will be pleased to know we’re located right by the Fortezza da Basso Exhibition Centre.

lunedì 3 maggio 2010

BOBOLI GARDENS: The Florentine Versailles

Hotel Mario's suggests a further visit: Boboli Gardens. They were not famous until the land became the property of the Medici family, who called in Niccolò Pericoli, known as Tribolo, to design them; this artist created a masterpiece of "landscape architecture" between 1550 and 1558. Parks in Florence: BoboliThe park, on the property of the Pitti Palace, was planned to occupy a scenographic setting on the slopes of the Boboli hill (covering 320.000 square metres) and also had access from the square. The park was enriched with many Mannerist inventions by Buontalenti (like the Grotta Grande), fountains and statues by Ammannati, Giambologna and Tacca, and was eventually completed by Giulio and Alfonso Parigi (1631- 1656). The two architects, father and son, carried out the stone Amphitheatre, the unique setting for many celebrated theatrical performances, the cypress alley known as the "Viottolone" and the square and pool of Isolotto. The last additions, like the Coffeehouse (1774-76), the Lawn of the Columns (1776) and the Lemonary (1785), were later installed by the Lorriane family. Pietro Leopoldo decided to open the garden to the public in 1776. The design of the Boboli Gardens was used as a basis for all the royal gardens in Europe, including Versailles.

venerdì 23 aprile 2010

Florence Airport


To confirm the constant increase of the airport traffic of the last years nearby the airport of Florence Perentola, AdF Spa has begun during the first months of the 2006 the airport modernization.
With an investiment of about 11 milions of euro for the works on the runway and of about 4,5 milions of euro for the renovations of the air terminals AdF has so taken to the maxim operating efficiency the principals infrastuctures of the Florence airport and has increased the total capacity of the airport from 1.500.000 to 2.200.000 passengers/year.
To plan the new internal structure of the airstations, AdF has used particular attention to the improvement of the flow passengers in departure setting in a more rational way different operative and commercial services that the passengers find now along a more fluent way.
The security passages have been increased from 3 to 5, the boarding gates from 6 to 10. The conveyer claims have been increased from 2 to 3. The check-in desk have become 23.

lunedì 19 aprile 2010

Cultur week in Italy and in Florence too.Museums free


The settimana della cultura, or the culture week, or the week during which the state- and city-run museums in Florence (and the rest of Italy) offer entrance without admission costs for the year 2010 is...now. In fact is already started 18th of April and will be continued till 26th of April.
Apart from normally open museums being free, several attractions that are normally closed to the public will open their doors during the settimana della cultura. This can be achieved thanks to the help of hundreds of volunteers.Some favorite sites such as the Colosseum, Uffizi Galleries, the archaeological site of Pompei, and the Galleria Borghese are just a few of the many that will be free during this 9 day period. You’ll be out of luck at the Vatican, however, as it is not a state museum and will still enforce the normal entry fee.
For any Context walk that normally includes pre-purchased tickets to a state museum, you will either be receiving a refund shortly if you were already charged for your ticket or, if you will be booking, the price of your ticket will be deducted before it is charged.
In Florence you could visit for free Uffizi, Accademia ( where the David of Michelangelo is ), Medici Chapels, Bargello,Pitti Palace,Boboli garden,Opificio delle pietre dure and many others.

Here a list of special events for your visit in Florence:


Uffizi: from 4/20/2010 to 5/30/2010 on special display is the newly restored Altarpiece of the Novitiate painted by Filippo Lippi for the chapel of the same name in the Church of Santa Croce (read announcement from the Uffizi). The altarpiece was commissioned by Cosimo de’ Medici in 1445. For the first time since its dismantling it will be displayed with its predella, painted by Francesco di Stefano known as Il Pesellino, thanks to a loan from the Louvre.

Boboli Gardens: Saturday 17 April at 15:30: Sbandiatori – historic flag throwers of Florence will perform in costume in the Boboli’s Piazzale della Meridiana.

Cappella Ruccellai and Alberti’s Tempietto: this little jewel of a chapel is only open on this occasion! I’ve seen it during previous culture weeks, it’s an important contribution to understanding Alberti’s architecture.

Conservatorio di S. Maria degli Angiolini: special opening of this dominican convent that has been recently restored! Info here, booking by telephone is obligatory.

At the state archive, an exhibit of documents related to the city of Florence and the Medici family. April 16 to 24

You can check other information on the website http://www.beniculturali.it if you are also interested to others Italian museums. Take a break now, come in Florence and stay at Hotel Mario's, next to the railway station of Santa Maria Novella, in the heart of the city of beautiful Florence. We are here, contact us and require all the information you need ( info@hotelmarios.com ).

domenica 18 aprile 2010

FORTEZZA DA BASSO



Mario's Hotel is very near Fortezza da Basso.
The great pentagonal mass of the Fortress of San Giovanni is known to everyone as the Fortress "Da Basso" because it is located on the river plain.
It was built around the medieval Porta Faenza beginning in 1534 by the great architect Antonio San Gallo the younger, and commissioned by the Duke Alessandro de' Medici, who wanted to create a kind of citadel of power. Indeed, in the original designs for the fortress, there was a palace to be constructed inside for the Prince himself. However, political considerations persuaded him to remain in the Medici family residence in Via Larga. The fortress was finished in 1537 and today is used as an exhibition center.

A TRIP TO FIESOLE



Mario's Hotel's staff helps you in visiting Fiesole.
Fiesole(Vipsul) was probably founded in the 9th-8th century BC, as it was an important member of the Etruscan confederacy, as may be seen from the remains of its ancient walls.
The first recorded mention on the town dates to 283 BC, when the town, then known as Faesulae, was conquered by the Romans. In pagan antiquity it was the seat of a famous school of augurs, and every year twelve young men were sent thither from Rome to study the art of divination. Sulla colonized it with veterans, who afterwards, under the leadership of Gaius Mallius, supported the cause of Catilina.
Fiesole was the scene of Stilicho's great victory over the Germanic hordes of the Vandals and Suevi under Radagaisus in 406. During the Gothic War (536-53) the town was several times besieged. In 539 Justinus, the Byzantine general, captured it and razed its fortifications.
It was an independent town for several centuries in the early Middle Ages, no less powerful than Florence in the valley below, and many wars arose between them; in 1010 and 1025 Fiesole was sacked by the Florentines, before it was conquered by Florence in 1125, and its leading families obliged to take up their residence in Florence.
By the 14th century, rich Florentines had countryside villas in Fiesole, and one of them is the setting of the frame narrative of the Decameron, also Boccaccio wrote the poem "Ninfale fiesolano". Robert Browning also mentions "sober pleasant Fiesole" several times in his poem, Andrea del Sarto.

venerdì 26 marzo 2010

Train station in Florence : Santa Maria Novella


In the second half of the nineteenth century, railway stations were the most eloquent witnesses of the fruitful collaboration between the sciences, technology and art. Although the buildings were often beautifully and carefully designed (some even resembled basilicas), they were nonetheless difficult to integrate into the urban fabric. The station Maria Antonia, for instance, was erected withing the city walls, behind the church of Santa Maria Novella, thus opening a "new door" to the city. It was founded on 3 February 1848, and consisted of a number of separate buildings. The facade of the central building had four large round arches, which allowed one to see from the outside in, and vice versa, as if the architect had wished to emphasise the interpenetration of city and station. It had four tracks, and served as the point of departure of the Florence-Prato-Pistoia railway. The other Florentine Station, the "Stazione Leopolda", was also build in 1848. After the unification of Italy, the Station of Maria Antonia was rebaptised the Station of Santa Maria Novella. A new station was built during the 30s. “Maria Antonia” station was demolished to make way for the present station facing the church of Santa Maria Novella: a masterpiece of rationalist architecture, one of the finest expressions of the modern movement in Italian architecture.
Firenze Santa Maria Novella has amongst the most architecturally significant recent buildings of any Italian railway station.in 1932 a national competition was launched for the design of the new Travellers Building. It was won by the Tuscan Group of architects headed by Giovanni Michelucci and including Baroni, Berardi, Gamberini, Guarnieri and Lusanna. The station was opened in 1935: its chief features are the spacious entrance hall with its glass and steel roof structure and the main gallery, whose functional layout heralds the one later built in Roma. Its outer facings and finishings reflect the materials and colours of the city around it, while its interior is adorned with important artworks including sculptures by Italo Griselli and paintings by Ottone Rosai and Mario Romoli.
The plan of the building, as seen from above, was based on the fascio littorio, the symbol of Mussolini's fascist movement. The building is one of the key works of Italian modernism, but has little to do with the Italian Rationalism movement, being more strongly influenced by the Viennese architecture of Loos and Hoffman, with perhaps a nod to Wright; but it is the building's complete originality that makes it outstanding.While it is of a 'modern' design, the use of pietra forte for the station's stone frontage was intended to respond to and contrast with the nearby
Gothic architecture. It is a style of architecture which flourished during the high and late medieval period. It evolved from Romanesque architecture and was succeeded by Renaissance architecture of the church of Santa Maria Novella.
The train station is used by 59,000,000 people every year and is one of the most important in Italy.
It is at the northern end of the Florence–Rome direttissima, which was completed on 26 May 1992 and the southern end of the Bologna–Florence Direttissima, opened on 22 April 1934. A new high speed line to Bologna opened on 13 December 2009. The station is also used by regional trains on lines connecting to Pisa, Livorno, Lucca, Viareggio, Bologna and Faenza.
Hotel Mario's is just some metres far away from this beautiful train station and to get here is an easy walk from the station. You cannot imagine how close is. We are in a wonderful position, because off from the noisy of the around of every train station of the world.

mercoledì 24 marzo 2010

Rificolona Festival ( the Festival of lanterns )


Rificolona Festival, a traditional festival where each 7th of September children carry lanterns through the streets of the city.
The celebration takes its origin from the Middle Ages.Florentine children still get out their lanterns in the beginning of September and there are parties in the squares, with street theater and much merrymaking. The Festa della Rificolona is a major festival held every year in Florence and it is a tradition that dates back to the late Middle Ages. In those days, a big annual market was held in Florence at the beginning of September. In order to reach the city on time, farmers had to leave the countryside well before dawn. They used lanterns to light their way, creating a colourful cortege. City folk later transformed this ritual into a procession of lanterns which culminates in a big party far into the night. The procession starts from Piazza San Giovanni.
If you would like to see something very traditional and if you are here in Florence during the beginning of September, you'll surely enjoy this Festival.

venerdì 19 marzo 2010

Arno



The Arno is a river in the Tuscany region of Italy. It is the most important river of central Italy after the Tiber.
The river originates on Mount Falterona in the Casentino area of the Apennines, and takes initially a southward curve. The river turns to the west near Arezzo passing through Florence, Empoli and Pisa, flowing into the Tyrrhenian Sea at Marina di Pisa. With a length of 241 kilometers, it is the largest river in the region. Its main tributaries are: the Sieve (60 kilometers), Bisenzio (49 kilometers), Ombrone, Era, Elsa, Pesa and Pescia. The drainage basin amounts to more than 8,200 km² and drains the waters of the following sub-basins:
* The Casentino, in the province of Arezzo, formed by the upper course of the river until the confluence with the Maestro della Chiana channel.
* The Val di Chiana, a plain dried in the 18th century, which, until the 18th century, was a marshy area tributary of the Tiber.
* The upper Valdarno, a long valley bordered from East by the Pratomagno massif and from West by the hills around Siena.
* The Sieve's basin, which flows in the Arno immediately before Florence.
* The middle Valdarno, with the plain including Florence, Sesto Fiorentino, Prato and Pistoia.
* The lower Valdarno, with the valley of important tributaries such as the Pesa, Elsa and Era and in which, after Pontedera, the Arno flows into the Tyrrhenian Sea. The river has a very variable discharge, ranging from minimum values such as 6 m³/s to more than 2,000. The mouth of the river was once near Pisa, but is now several kilometres westwards.
It crosses Florence, where it passes below the Ponte Vecchio and the Santa Trìnita bridge (built by Bartolomeo Ammanati, but inspired by Michelangelo). The river flooded this city regularly in historical times, the last occasion being the famous flood of 1966, with 4,500 m³/s after a rain of 437.2 mm in Badia Agnano and 190 millimetres in Florence, in only 24 hours.
The flow rate of the Arno is irregular. It is sometimes described as having a torrent-like behaviour, because it can easily go from almost dry to near-flood in a few days. At the point where the Arno leaves the Apennines, flow measurements can vary between 0.56 m³/s and 3,540 m³/s. New dams built upstream of Florence have greatly alleviated the problem in recent years.
A flood on November 4, 1966 collapsed the embankment in Florence, killing at least 40 people and damaging or destroying millions of works of art and rare books. New conservation techniques were inspired by the disaster, but even 40 years later hundreds of works still await restoration.

Bargello National Museum



The Palazzo del Bargello, which has housed the Museum since its foundation in 1865, is one of the oldest public buildings in Florence , with origins closely linked to the emergence of the Comune. After Florence had set itself up as a free Comune, beginning to mint its own money and in its new-found independence moving towards a period of major economic expansion, it established a constitution with a Podestà and a Capitano del Popolo at its head. Thus the palazzo was built, to provide a fitting premises for the Capitano del Popolo, nearly fifty years before Palazzo Vecchio.
The design of the oldest part of the building, that overlooking Via del Proconsolo, was attributed by Vasari to Lapo Tedesco, the father and master of Arnolfo di Cambio. The construction incorporated pre-existing structures including the Palagio and Tower of the Boscoli, as well as various houses and towers belonging to the church of the Badia. Building began in 1255, as confirmed by a stone walled into the facade.

Polo Museale Fiorentino